Arthur Terry Students Race At Rockingham

Despite being a team in their infancy, the students managed two astonishing results On 7th May the endeavours of students from the Arthur Terry School paid off when the “Arthur Terry Formula 24” racing team competed in their first race events at the Rockingham International Race Circuit. After successfully completing the scrutineering process, the Arthur Terry car, named “The Atom”, was test driven by team members on the 1.4 mile oval ‘Nascar’ track, before taking part in two 90 minute races against 37 other cars. Despite being a team in their infancy, the students managed two astonishing results. In race one, students were placed 2nd in their category and then in race two more drama followed in as the team had to resolve a minor technical breakdown mid race, but then still managed a very respectable 4th place in their category. The many hours spent practicing and testing paid off with an amazingly quick and record breaking pit stop timed at just ten seconds. A presentation evening followed this week to celebrate the students outstanding success as school hosted the first annual awards event for the project leaders and the team. All students received a medal and trophies were awarded to Tom Hartland, Daniel Ford, William Bevan, Jordan Emery, Thomas Butterfield and Alex Platt. There has been ongoing support for the project from the Friends of Arthur Terry together with a generous donation from Wragge, Lawrence, Graham Co. This will allow the team to develop further and put the skills they have learnt into practice once again, building a second car, and recruiting new students into the racing team. The Greenpower project is designed to inspire future engineers and is one of the original STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) projects. Around 400 schools across the United Kingdom take part in events across the country to race single- seat electric race cars designed and built by students. Teams have to compete in at least one regional heat and finish in the top three to automatically qualify for the national final held in the autumn. The rest of the 75-strong grid is filled with those cars that have completed the most miles in any one race, plus three wild cards.