Sutton Coldfield Schools Debating Competition 2017!

On the evening of Thursday 9th March Leah Fennell and Hannah Cook represented Arthur Terry Sixth Form in the annual Sutton Coldfield Schools Debating Competition, held this year at Sutton Coldfield Grammar School for Girls.

Both Leah and Hannah performed exceptionally well both in their prepared speeches, advancing the introduction of compulsory voting and in preparing and delivering an unseen motion on the issue of emergency services being able to strike.

Alongside the two speakers, William Bevan, Amy Shah, Ben Leedham, Victoria Poole and Oliver Bradley all actively contributed to an incredible speech writing team. Despite not coming away with the trophy this year (event winners, Bishop Vesey School now have the honour of hosting the event next year) the occasion was a tremendous success and all staff and students who attended had a fabulous night.

A huge thanks to Mr Lomas who met with the writing team over a series of weeks to guide the students through the speech writing process.